Winners in 2017

The Jury decided not to award the 1st Prizes of the 5th International Chamber Music Competition “Cidade de Alcobaça” (CIMCA) , held between october 19th and 23rd November, 2017, in both categories. As for the 2nd Prize of the Senior Category, it was awarded ex-aequo to the Portuguese percussion trio Merak Trio and the pianists duo Piano Duo from Japan. Also the 2nd Prize of the Junior Category was delivered to another Portuguese percussion trio, RePercussion, followed by ReQuintet group (Portugal) with the 3rd Prize.

The classification was ordered as it follows:

Senior Category

1st Place: Not awarded.
2nd Place ex-aequo: Merak Trio: António Machado, Francisco Cipriano and Pedro Tavares (Percussion) · Piano Duo: Yuki Osaki and Misako Mihara (Piano).
3rd Place: Not awarded.

Honorable Mention: Tejo Quartet: Artur Mendes, Miguel Carvalho, Nelson Jesus and Raul Gouveia (Saxophones) · Trio Ramales: Pablo Diaz (Violin), Gonçalo Lélis (Cello) and Andrés Navarro (Piano).

Prize for Best Interpretation of a Portuguese Author’s Work: Piano Duo
Fernando LOPES-GRAÇA (1906-1994)
Paris 1937, for two pianos

Junior Category

1st Place: Not awarded.
2nd Place: RePercussion Trio: Alexandre Silva, Daniel Araújo and Jorge Pereira (Percussion).
3rd Place ex-aequo: ReQuintet: Beatriz Baião (Transversal Flute), Carla Pereira (Oboe), Nuno Miguel Nogueira (French Horn), André Rocha (Bassoon) e Ângela Catarina Pereira (Clarinet).

Prize for Best Interpretation of a Portuguese Author’s Work: Repercussion Trio
Luís TINOCO (1969-)
Zoom in – Zoom out, for percussion trio de percussão

The jury was comprised of names such as  António Rosa (President of the Jury, Artistic Diretor and Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto), Kika Materula (Artistic Director of Xiquitsi and Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto), Pedro Carneiro (Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa and Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa), Luís Magalhães (Stellenbosch University, África do Sul) and Luís Tinoco (Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa and Director of Concurso Jovens Músicos RDP).

The Awards Ceremony and Winners Concert took place on 23rd November at Cine-Teatro de Alcobaça – João d’Oliva Monteiro.

Comments are closed.